Détails du document
Forum Publication
Publication Year:

French HTML
Sri Lankans examine Indian Federalism

Sri Lankans examine Indian Federalism Sri Lankans examine Indian Federalism Colombo, Sri Lanka – July 28, 2003: The Bandaranaike Centre for International Studies, the Jawaharlal Nehru University of New Delhi and the India –Sri Lanka Foundation conducted a three-day seminar on Indian Federalism from July 25 to 27, 2003, at the Bandaranaike Memorial International Conference Hall. Bob Rae, President of the Forum of Federations, was one of those participating in the seminar. His presentation was part of a series of events, some organized by the Forum, some in which the Forum participates, to help raise public awareness of the federal options available to Sri Lanka. After the cease-fire in Sri Lanka took effect, the Forum also began providing expert information on federal options to both sides in the peace negotiations, which recently have been suspended. In previous peace negotiations, both sides in the Sri Lankan conflict agreed that some form of federal government would be acceptable in a future settlement. The seminar was presided over by Lakshman Kadirgamar, PC, former Minister of Foreign Affairs. The resource persons were Prof. Lakshman Marasinghe, Emeritus Professor of Law, University of Windsor, Canada, Dr. Subhash Kashyap, former Secretary General of the Lok Sabha, India, K. K. Venugopal, Senior Advocate of the Supreme Court of India, A. N. Jayaram, Advocate General of the State of Karnataka, Sumanasiri Liyanage, Senior Lecturer in Economics, University of Peradeniya, Prof. G. H. Peiris, Professor of Geography, University of Peradeniya, Prof. S. W. R. de A. Samarasinghe, Professor of International Development, Toulane University, USA, B. N. Kirpal, former Chief Justice of India, Prof. Balveer Arora, Rector, Jawarharlal Nehru University, Rt. Hon. Bob. Rae, PC, OC, QC, former Premier of Ontario, and President of the Forum of Federations and Deshamanya H. L. de Silva, PC. Other participants included Prof. Ranjith Amarasinghe, Professor of Political Science, University of Peradeniya, Sam Wijesinha, former Secretary General of Parliament, Sri Lanka, Prof. Laksiri Fernando, Professor of Political Science, University of Colombo, Dr. Jayampathy Wickremaratne, PC, Dr. Sarath Amunugama, former Minister of Rehabilitation, Reconstruction and Development, Prof. Vishwa Warnapala, Professor of Political Science, University of Peradeniya, Neil Hatch, Attorney-at-Law, Prof. W. D. Lakshman, former Vice Chancellor, University of Colombo, Dr. A. R. B. Amerasinghe, former Judge of the Supreme Court of Sri Lanka, Saleem Marsoof, PC, Additional Solicitor General of Sri Lanka, Rohan Edirisinghe, Senior Lecturer in Law, University of Colombo, Ms. Manouri Muttetuwegama, former Chairman, Disappearance Commissions, Prof. Gamini Keerawella, Professor of History, University of Peradeniya, Sri Lanka, Deshmanya Godfrey Gunatillake, former Chairman, Human Rights Commission, and Dayan Jayatilleka, Senior Lecturer, Political Science and Public Policy, University of Colombo.